CN Monday: 06/13/2011 (Recap)

Posted: June 14, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Tony here. Time for your weekly Recap of Cartoon Network’s Monday Night Line-up on the date 06/13/2011. This week the line-up consists of new episodes of The Amazing World of Gumball, Regular Show, MAD, and The Problem Solverz. Note that this blog defines “Recap” as a short summary of the episode and a brief review/opinion of it, as opposed to the “Bit-By-Bit” recapping style of sites like TelevisionWithoutPity.com. Some spoilers below. Let’s get started.

First up on The Amazing World of Gumball: In “The Painting”, the school’s principal sees a drawing Anais did, which demonstrates the insanely chaotic and dysfunctional nature of her family. The principal decides to try and sort all of them out–telling Richard to get a job, Nicole to become a stay-at-home mom, and Gumball and Darwin to take a course on taming their rambunctiousness. Another hilarious episode; each storyline was given equal screen-time and all managed to be amazing. I’ve heard a lot of complaints about how unoriginal Richard’s dumb dad personality is, but I don’t care–he’s personally my favorite character on the show, because (as is demonstrated in this episode) practically everything he does is hysterical and well-timed. Gumball and Darwin’s plot featured a new character, Mr. Smalls, a new age teacher whose methods were side-splitting, and Nicole’s simple scenes had her being extremely bored being able to do nothing but clean. The jokes worked, these characters are funny–Gumball is just fucking amazing. I give it an A+.

Then on Regular Show: In “More Smarter”, Rigby is mocked for not having a high school diploma. He tries but fails attending an actual high school, and finds an online test impossible, so he orders a brain enhancing juice which makes him “more smarter”. This episode was on the ball the whole time. Rigby being stupid–while some of the jokes were a tad on the nose–was played out nice and his dumb lines were funny. The irregular ending was as big and weird as I like it, with the boys taking so much of the brain juice that they think at a higher level then everybody and view the world as more-or-less the grid from Tron. Two favorite moments: Benson coming into the kitchen and asking the guys a real life stereotypical math word problem to Rigby’s utter bemusement, and the cleverly quick way the show brushed off Rigby’s attempt at re-attending high school which could have been an episode all its own. I give it an A.

Next on MAD: In “Ribbitless/The Clawfice”, the show took on Limitless, The Office, The Muppets, and X-Men, and packed a solid punch. In fact, most of the sketches (excluding the titular two) did not actually directly parody anything, and it allowed for more diversity in the comedy. That being said, the parodies themselves were a bit of a stretch (I actually had no clue what they’d be parodying until I saw the episode despite seeing the titles beforehand) but once that subsided they both offered their laughs. “Ribbitless” was hilarious, with lots of funny gags with the Muppets–there was even some surprise continuity with a callback to a bit in “Clifforfield”– though “The Clawfice” didn’t do much for me despite my love of both The Office and X-Men. I just felt like the satire itself just wasn’t good enough; like they hadn’t really done much research on the show, so the whole thing just fell apart for me. The best sketch was “Seattle: Los Angeles”, which was just absurd, ridiculous, hilarious, and amazing. One my favorite MAD sketches so far, though the episode overall was just solid. I give it a B+.

Finally, on The Problem Solverz: In “Breakfast Wars”, a child runs out of cereal, and The Problem Solverz mission to solve the problem leads to them going on a wild chase as they get embroiled in the schemes of the evil cereal mascot Professor Sugar Fish. I’m not entirely sure how I came to get the feelings I did about this episode–maybe I’m just totally adjusted to the horrific colors and annoying voices and in-your-face attitude of this show and just don’t care anymore; maybe it was the fact that this whole episode acted as an homage to insane Japanese culture with Prof. Sugar Fish’s cereal commercials and I absolutely adore everything about Japan; maybe it was that the surrealism was actually done sort of right for once. But for whatever reason, this episode of The Problem Solverz was borderline decent, and I….did not hate it. And once again, I’m not sure why, but for whatever reason, I laughed more at the absurdity, and I was not utterly repulsed. Again, it might be because I’m adjusted, or because I’m bias for Japanese culture, but I still could not find much to hate about this episode. Oh sure, the colors were brighter and fiercer then ever and the plot was more chaotic, random, and dumber, which are the elements this show increases on weekly. I hate all of the characters (except for Tux Dog, but even he was in the episode and had a pretty funny scene) and I hate the animation. But as this season comes to a close (season finale’s next week) I’ve finally found at least one episode of this horrible show that can actually be called “decent”. I give it a C-.

Overall I give this week’s CN Monday a B+. Be sure to check the line-up next week, starting at 7:30p.m. on Cartoon Network. And be sure to read more of Toons with Tony with new posts daily.

Leave a Reply

